WCCC Inducts 38 Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Thirty-eight Warren County Community College students were recognized for their outstanding academic achievements at a special ceremony held on campus in November, that highlighted them as among the best in the country.

The WCCC Alpha Upsilon Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently welcomed  38 new members into its organization based on their outstanding academic records and commitment to their educational pursuits.

Phi Theta Kappa International is the honor society for 2-year colleges and boasts members from throughout the country. Membership is based upon academic achievement. Among the criteria for induction, students must be enrolled in accredited courses that can lead to an associate degree  and have a GPA of 3.5 or over. As a member of this organization, these students are eligible to apply for Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarships offered by over 600 4-year colleges and universities located throughout the United States. 

“This is a tremendous group of students who have proven to be among the best,” said Jean Vasko, PTK Advisor.  “They give 110 percent everyday and it’s no surprise that they are now acknowledged as such by the No. 1 honor society for community colleges.”

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society promotes the values of  Fellowship, Leadership, Service and Scholarship.

The keynote address was delivered by Elda Pere, Middle States Regional Officer, NJ State President. The well received speech was titled, “Doing More Means Getting More.”

The following individuals were inducted (listed by hometowns): 

Jose Benjamin Belen, Jacob Donofry, Brittany Zrinski, Alpha; Kurt Soergel, Belvidere; Kora Flizack-Sloan, Bloomsbury; Robert Margist, Bridgewater; Brenda Haycock, Kathleen Norton, Benjamin Reidel, Columbia; Spencer Pellegrino, Glen Gardner, Rocco DeCorco, Great Meadows.

Olivia Cafferty, Luke Costello, Katie Helmken, Maria Kominis, Hannah Weaver, Hackettstown; Jesse Ryder, High Bridge; Andrew Markiewicz, Long Valley; Lauren Arico, Amy Kwiatek, Lacey Large-Schlaudecker, Donna Mulvihill, Joelle Wolfrum, Oxford.

Julia Eckard, Marissa Gabriel, Steven Wormull, Zachary Zocchi, Phillipsburg; Tayfun Zafis, Port Murray; Steven Korzeniewski, Meghan McGuire, William Milazzo, Kristen Whalen, Stewartsville; Emily Benz, Westfield.

Abigail Ballard, Michelle Bodyl, Daniel McGuire, Matthew Miller, Marie Missenheim, Washington.

WCCC has been serving Warren County since 1981, providing an affordable, high quality education in a broad range of fields of interest. For more information about WCCC and its degree and non-degree programs, visit www.warren.edu.

(Photo by Cathy Miller: Many of this year’s PTK inductees to WCCC’s Alpha Upsilon Rho are pictured here with Dr. Will Austin, President of WCCC, back row second from right, featured speaker Elda Pere (in purple next to Dr. Austin), Middle States Regional Officer, NJ State President, second row right, Dorothy Helmken, Alpha Upsilon Rho Chapter President, and Jean Vasko, front left, WCCC’s PTK Advisor)

Be the first to comment on "WCCC Inducts 38 Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.